top of page

My Experience of Living with Someone Who Has Suffered Mental Health

Well, living with someone who has suffered from mental health, at the start, was initially hard for me. The reason being was because I didn’t know how it started, where it had come from, who had caused it and stuff; that kind of a thing. I didn’t know who to blame. Normally, when there is an accident, you have someone to blame for it, but this time I didn’t know who to point the finger at: Whether it be myself, family or friends.

The thing is, I have read a bit about it but I didn’t know everything in depth. When I came with her to the doctor and the doctor was asking questions like, “how are you keeping,” etc, that was when I started getting a gist to what she may be feeling. It’s ok now because I know when she starts to have her episodes, I can pinpoint when it is about to commence and ask whether she has had her meds. It is something that I know I can help her with, contributing to her well-being.

Would I have done anything better? Well, it is still a learning curve for me. What advice I would give someone, who would have to be in the same position as me in the future is to be present in their time of need – when they really need it. Its patience as well as understanding: Understanding the deeper meaning of why it happened so you can support them, because each person is different.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page